Golden Globes – the winners

The winners of this year's Golden Globes were announced at a press conference held yesterday. Here they are: MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA "American Gangster" - Imagine Entertainment/Scott Free Productions; Universal Pictures "Atonement" - Working Title Productions; Focus Features "Eastern Promises" - Kudos Pictures - Uk Serendipity Point Films - Canada A Uk/Canada Co-Production; Focus Features "The Great Debaters" - Harpo Films; The Weinstein Company/MGM "Michael Clayton" - Samuels Media and [Read more...]

WGA announces Best Screenplay nominees

The Writers’ Guild of America has announced the nominees for this year’s WGA Awards. The awards ceremony will not take place until the writers’ strike is over, the Guild said. The show was originally scheduled to take place on February 9 in Los Angeles. Here are the nominees: BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY Juno – Diablo Cody Michael Clayton – Tony Gilroy The Savages – Tamara Jenkins Knocked Up – Judd Apatow Lars and the Real Girl – Nancy Oliver BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY [Read more...]

National Society of Film Critics names the best of 2007

The National Society of Film Critics honored this year’s best achievements in cinema at the 42nd annual awards ceremony last Saturday. Here are the winners: Best Picture – There Will Be Blood Best Director – Paul Thomas Anderson, There Will Be Blood Best Actor – Daniel Day-Lewis, There Will be Blood Best Actress – Julie Christie, Away from Her Best Supporting Actor – Casey Affleck, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford Best Supporting Actress [Read more...]

Screen Actors’ Guild announces SAG Awards nominees

The Screen Actors Guild has announced the nominees for this year's SAG Awards. The films that scored several noms include Ridley Scott's American Gangster, Tony Gilroy's Michael Clayton, the Coen brothers' No Country for Old Men and Sean Penn's Into the Wild, the film that earned the most nominations (four). The SAG Awards will be presented at the Shrine in Los Angeles on January 27. The event will not be affected by the writers' strike since the WGA granted SAG a waiver for the show. They did [Read more...]

Satellite Awards winners announced

The winners of the Satellite Awards were announced on Sunday, December 16. Here they are: FILM ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA Marion Cotillard, "La Vie En Rose" ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA Viggo Mortensen, "Eastern Promises" ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE, COMEDY OR MUSICAL Ellen Page, "Juno" ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE, COMEDY OR MUSICAL Ryan Gosling, "Lars and the Real Girl" ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE Amy Ryan, "Gone Baby Gone" ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE Tom [Read more...]