Academy announces Best Foreign Language Film candidates

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences revealed this year’s contenders for the Best Foreign Language Film Oscar earlier today. The best movies from 63 countries – a record number of submissions – were announced by Academy president Sid Ganis. The awards for outstanding achievements in cinema in 2007 will be presented at the annual awards ceremony on February 24, 2008 at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood.

Here they are:

Argentina – XXY (Lucia Puenzo)
Australia – The Home Song Stories (Tony Ayres)
Austria – The Counterfeiters (Stefan Ruzowitzky)
Azerbaijan – Caucasia (Farid Gumbatov)
Bangladesh – On the Wings of Dreams (Golam Rabbany Biplob)
Belgium – Ben X (Nic Balthazar)
Bosnia and Herzegovina – It’s Hard to Be Nice (Srdan Vuletic)
Brazil – The Year My Parents Went on Vacation (Cao Hamburger)
Bulgaria – Warden of the Dead (Ilian Simeonov)
Canada – Days of Darkness (Denys Arcand)
Chile – Padre Nuestro (Rodrigo Sepulveda)
China – The Knot (Yin Li)
Colombia – Satanas (Andi Baiz)
Croatia – Armin (Ognjen Svilicic)
Cuba – The Silly Age (Pavel Giroud)
Czech Republic – I Served the King of England (Jiri Menzel)
Denmark – The Art of Crying (Peter Schonau Fog)
Egypt – In the Heliopolis Flat (Mohamed Khan)
Estonia – The Class (Ilmar Raag)
Finland – A Man’s Job (Aleksi Salmenpera)
France – Persepolis (Marjane Satrapi, Vincent Paronnaud)
Georgia – The Russian Triangle (Aleko Tsabadze)
Germany – The Edge of Heaven (Fatih Akin)
Greece – Eduart (Angeliki Antoniou)
Hong Kong – Exiled (Johnnie To)
Hungary – Taxidermia (Gyorgy Palfi)
Iceland – Jar City (Baltasar Kormakur)
India – Eklavya – The Royal Guard (Vidhu Vinod Chopra)
Indonesia – Denias, Singing on the Cloud (John De Rantau)
Iran – M for Mother (Rasoul Mollagholipour)
Iraq – Jani Gal (Jamil Rostami)
Ireland – Kings (Tom Collins)
Israel – Beaufort (Joseph Cedar)
Italy – The Unknown (Giuseppe Tornatore)
Japan – I Just Didn’t Do It (Masayuki Suo)
Kazakhstan – Mongol (Sergei Bodrov)
Korea – Secret Sunshine (Chang-dong Lee)
Lebanon – Caramel (Nadine Labaki)
Luxembourg – Little Secrets (Pol Cruchten)
Macedonia – Shadows (Milcho Manchevski)
Mexico – Silent Light (Carlos Reygadas)
The Netherlands – Duska (Jos Stelling)
Norway – Gone with the Woman (Petter Naess)
Peru – Crossing a Shadow (Augusto Tamayo)
Philippines – Donsol (Adolfo Alix, Jr.)
Poland – Katyn (Andrzej Wajda)
Portugal – Belle Toujours (Manoel de Oliveira)
Puerto Rico – Love Sickness (Carlitos Ruiz, Mariem Perez)
Romania – 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days (Cristian Mungiu)
Russia – 12 (Nikita Mikhalkov)
Serbia – The Trap (Srdan Golubovic)
Singapore – 881 (Royston Tan)
Slovakia – Return of the Storks (Martin Repka)
Slovenia – Short Circuits (Janez Lapajne)
Spain – The Orphanage (J.A. Bayona)
Sweden – You, the Living (Roy Andersson)
Switzerland – Late Bloomers (Bettina Oberli)
Taiwan – Island Etude (Chen Huai-En)
Thailand – King of Fire (Chatrichalerm Yukol)
Turkey – A Man’s Fear of God (Ozer Kiziltan)
Uruguay – The Pope’s Toilet (Enrique Fernandez, Cesar Charlone)
Venezuela – Postcards from Leningrad (Mariana Rondon)
Vietnam – The White Silk Dress (Luu Huynh)

Leave a Reply