Independent Spirit Awards presented

The 2008 annual Independent Spirit Awards were presented over the weekend. here are the winners:

Best feature film:

Best Female Lead:
Ellen Page – Juno

Best Male Lead:
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Savages

Supporting Female:
Cate Blanchett – I’m Not There

Supporting Male:
Chiwetel Ejiofor – Talk To Me

Best Director:
Julian Schanbel – The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Screenplay:
Tamara Jenkins – The Savages

Best First Screenplay:
Diablo Cody – Juno

Janusz Kaminski – The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best First Feature:
Scott Frank, Roger Birnbaum, Gary Barber, Laurence Mark, Walter F. Parkes – The Lookout

Best Foreign Film:
Once (Ireland) – John Carney

Best Documentary:
Dan Klores – Crazy Love

John Cassavetes Award (best feature film made for less than $500,000):
Chris Eska, Connie Hill, Jason Wehling – August Evening

Truer Than Fiction Award:
Laura Dunn – The Unforeseen

IFC/ACURA Someone to Watch Award:
Ramin Bahrani – Chop Shop

Producers Award:
Neil Kopp – Paranoid Park and Old Joy

Leave a Reply